2016 Go Santa Go 5k Recap

My mom moved up to Cincinnati recently, and she got bit by the racing bug when we did the 2016 Princess 5k together this past year. She really wanted to do another race with me, so I did a quick search for local 5k’s in the area and came across the Go Santa Go 5k, which was being held at Summit Park – a great new park down the street from where I live. Proceeds from the race went to the Cancer Survivors Community.

Packet pick up was the day before at my local running store – but there was also race day pickup and registration available. Included in registration was a Santa *or* Elf shirt and hat (you had to pick one). We picked Elves. The shirt and hats were intended to be worn at the race.

15271874_10108581666348765_2960094431117509248_o

My mom and I arrived about 35 minutes before the race and stayed in the car to keep warm. The temperatures that morning were in the high 30’s.

Around 5 minutes before the start we lined up at the starting line. This was probably one of the smallest races I have participated in. I believe there were about 117 participants.

When I race with my mom we stick to power walking. The course went through and around the park. During the race my mom and I pretty much chatted and people watched. Our official time was 47:47, with a pace of 15:24 per mile.

Hot chocolate and cookies were available post race and an awards ceremony was held for people who placed in their age group. Since my mother and I were certain we did not place, we left and went back to my house.

Like the Thanksgiving Day Race, this is another race I’d like to make an annual tradition. I definitely plan to bring the stroller and my little buddy next year!

2 thoughts on “2016 Go Santa Go 5k Recap

    • blair December 20, 2016 / 12:41 pm

      Thanks! I had to convince my mom to wear it – she wore a heavy jacket that covered her shirt the entire time, so she *had* to have at least one themed clothing item. lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

